Replacing Clutch

More
30 Oct 2012 11:18 #1 by dandjcr
dandjcr created the topic: Replacing Clutch
Forum Home > On the Road > Replacing Clutch

rowan
hi every one im new to the whole OKA thing and looking forward to the whole experience. My truck is not driving ATM as i brought it needing a new clutch put in it. I just got one sent to me and im going to have a go putting it in myself so if there are any helpful tips out there that would be great. thanks. It also has a tipper back on it whitch im keen on getting rid if and putting a dual cab and smaller tray on it.
June 3, 2012 at 7:43 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Hal Harvey
Site Owner
Rowan,

There are a few pages of how-to regarding clutches. If you go to the Forum Listings pages and click through to the clutch subjects, you'll get to every one of them; and one example is here.
--
Hal

June 3, 2012 at 8:10 PM Flag Quote & Reply

joseph baz
Hi Rowan,welcome to the group,what model is your OKA?,one thing that you have to keep in mind ,is that everything on a OKA is bloody heavy and unless you have the proper workshop equipment is better to remove gear in stages like transfer,gearbox rather than as an assembly,are you replacing the clutch with an organic or ceramic?,personally I wouln't use a ceramic clutch in a 4x4.
Cheers,Joe
June 3, 2012 at 8:13 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Pete Fox
Hi Rowan
I have mine out at the moment.
I would support the idea of separating the components unless you can get a lift from above and lower it on a sling or you have a really big transmission jack. All components are heavy, high and awkward. You won't want to drop this stuff. Not only because you might be under it, but because you could crack a housing if dropped onto concrete.
You will have to move the oil tank aside for the power steering to get at the bolt behind it if you have an LT, don't know about XT.