× Post your interesting, useful and/or unique bush mechanics solutions here for others to smile at and maybe learn from.

Dyneema rope

More
07 Mar 2019 18:09 #1 by packhorse
packhorse created the topic: Dyneema rope
Does anyone hold an opinion on dyneema winch rope. E-bay scares me sometimes but they show 10mm sk75 rope at a fair price. In your experience would this pull an Oka out of mud on a direct pull. It claims 10 tonne break load, to me that feels a bit light.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Mar 2019 05:34 #2 by Alister McBride
Alister McBride replied the topic: Dyneema rope
It's a fair while since i researched mine. I got a Master Pull line sent over, they were on sale at the time and are the ducks guts... When i was researching i read an article where they tested to break a bunch of different ropes and there is a huge difference between what ropes (and straps for that matter) are rated at versus what they can do with a lot of the cheaper brands (even some of the not cheap brands!), i'm talking significant differences. I haven't looked into it recently but i'm guessing if this dyneema rope is genuine it will be up to specs. Also, the master pull line i got came with end fittings to fit to my winch which is best done by the manufacturer with synthetic rope (again IMHO), that's one beauty of steel rope, you can do it yourself (it's the only one mind you!).

On the note of 10,000lb rope being strong enough, in my opinion, no. That's a rating of about 4.5T which is less than the oka anyway before you get it stuck in anything! Might be good enough with a snatch block but then you're better off getting say a 16mm rope run once at half the length...

Cheers, alister

More
08 Mar 2019 11:52 #3 by packhorse
packhorse replied the topic: Dyneema rope