Centramatic Wheel Balancers

More
06 Apr 2014 10:50 #1 by Outback Jack
Outback Jack created the topic: Centramatic Wheel Balancers
Any one have experiences with these?

Centramatic Wheel Balancers

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
06 Apr 2014 12:51 #2 by Hal Harvey
Hal Harvey replied the topic: Centramatic Wheel Balancers
I have no experience with them but would also be very interested to hear.

I've just done seven years with tyres that were powder balanced when they were mounted in the USA, and been very happy with them; but I've been to two tyre fitters lately sounding them out about fitting new tyres that I have coming, and neither want to do powder balancing, both wanting to do external balancing (but offering no guarantees of satisfaction). They each have their arguments against powder balancing, and they see a lot more tyres than I do.

My one concern with powder balancing in the past has been that it may have stuffed up internal tyre pressure sensors. Neither of the fitters referred to above had that on their list of objections.

If Centramatics do work well, all issues would be addressed.

Principal advisor to the Minister for Tourism, Liza Harvey MLA
... OKA 260 ... "I'm not leaving any sooner than I have to!"
www.byles.net/OLDportal/members-vehicles-public/5-oka-260

More
06 Apr 2014 15:51 #3 by Peter and Sandra OKA 374
Peter and Sandra OKA 374 replied the topic: Centramatic Wheel Balancers
They do work well, lots of Hummer H1 owners run them as you can't use powder on vehicles with CTIS as the powder blocks the system.
They are a bit pricey here in Oz though. They won't cure massive imbalance but if you have the wheel and tyre balanced first they will cope with normal variations.
Hal did you ever have problems with valve blockage when lowereing tyre pressures? I tried the powder and despite fitting so called "filtered valves" which the powder wasn't supposed to get into they still blocked up.